The Louisiana Legislative Black Caucus elected executive officer for the 2018-2019 year. State Rep. Randal Gaines of LaPlace was elected as chairman.

Established in 1977, the LLBC’s mission is to is to raise the quality of life for African Americans, poor and working people in Louisiana through legislation, education and economic development in addition to serving as a united public voice for the African American population in the state.

Other officers include state Rep. Ted James of Baton Rouge as vice chairman; state Rep. Jeff Hall (Alexandria), first vice chairman; state Sen. Wesley Bishop (New Orleans), senate whip; state Rep. Edmond Jordan, secretary; state Rep. Patricia Haynes Smith (Baton Rouge), treasurer; state Rep. Barbara West Carpenter (Baton Rouge), parliamentarian; state Rep. Kenny Cox (Mansfield) sergeant-at-arms; and state Rep. Patrick O. Jefferson (Homer), chaplain.

The new LLBC officers will serve effective immediately through January 2019.

We Are Proud to Have Served Our Community for 38 Years. Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Providing a Trusted Voice. We Look Forward to 38 More!