When qualifying for the Oct. 12 primary election ended on Thursday, Aug. 8, 84 candidates were qualified to run in 26 races that will bring Orleans Parish voters to the polls, including state wide competitions for governor, lieutenant governor and nearly a half-dozen other state-wide races.

The last day to register in person or by mail in order to vote in the Oct. 12 primary is Sept. 11. Registration continues online through the Secretary of State’s website (geauxvote.com) through Sept. 21. The deadline to request a mail ballot is Oct. 8; and the registrar of voters must received completed ballots from voters no later than Oct.11. Early voting for the Oct. 12 primary is Sept. 28 – Oct. 5 (except Sundays). Elections for races that require runoffs will take place Nov. 16.

Gov. John Bel Edwards faces competition from eight, including Republican and Trump-supporter Dr. Ralph Abraham, Oscar “Omar” Dantzier, a Hammond Democrat, and perennial candidate Gary Landrieu, who qualified as a Independent.

Lt. Gov. Billy Nungesser also attracted contenders in his battle to hold on to his seat. New Orleans Democrat Willie Jones and Rao M. Uppo, a Democrat from Prairieville qualified for the race.

Gwen Collins-Greenup, the Clinton Democrat who made a surprised showing in the 2018 special primary election for the Secretary of State seat coming in a close second in a crowded field of 9 candidates and landing a runoff spot in the general election against Kyle Ardoin is challenging him for the seat along with two other candidates.

Attorney General Jeff Landry faces competition from Ike Jackson Jr, a Democrat from Plaquemine. And Derrick Edwards is vying for the State Treasurer in a race that also included Teresa Kenny and incumbent John M. Schroder.

To see a full list of candidates in the state-wide races, visit the secretary of state’s election division at geauxvote.com.

Two Board of Elementary and Secondary Education (BESE) seats that represent portions of Orleans Parish are also on the ballot. Lee Price Barrios, Denise Carpenter and Marion Bonura are challenging BESE District 1 incumbent James “JIm” Garvey in the race. Meanwhile, Shawon Bernard and Ashonta Wyatt are both vying to replace Kira Orange Jones, who also qualified to hold on to the BESE District 2 seat.

Two term-limited state representatives, state Rep. Joe Bouie (D-99) and state Rep. John H. Bagneris (D-97) are vying for promotion to the state senate in the senatorial district 3 race, which also drew tow other candidates–Arabi Republican Kathleen Doody and New Orleans Democrat Brandon Gregoire.

Meanwhile state Sen. Jimmy Harris, who represents the 4th senatorial district faced no challenges in his bid to hold on to the seat. State Sen. Troy Carter will also continue to represent the 7th senatorial district without any challengers qualifying by the Aug. 8 deadline.

State Sen. Karen Carter Peterson, who represents the 5th District, drew three challengers in her race to maintain the seat. They are New Orleans Democrat “Fox Rich” Richardson, Metairie Democrat Ronald Brown Jr., and New Orleans Democrat Allen Borne Jr.

State Reps. Royce Duplessis (D-93) and Gary Carter Jr (D-102) won their seats by default with no one qualifying to challenge them. Likewise, state Rep. Ray Garofalo (D-103) won by default.

But the 91st, 94th, 97th, 98th, 99th, 100th and 105th state representative races drew at least two qualifiers each as follows:

91st State Representative District: “Pepper” Bowen Roussel, Carling Dinkler, Mandie Landry, Robert McKnight and John Perry.

94th State Representative District: Saudia Marcha Broyard, Stephanie Hilferty, Tammy Savoie and Kirk Williamson

97th State Representative District: Ethan Ashley, Belden “Noonie Man” Batiste, Eugene Green, Durrell Laurent and Mathhew Willard.

98th State Representative District: Aimee Adatto Freeman, Evan J. Bergeron, Marion “Penny” Friestadt, Max Hayden Chiz, Raci Sangisetty, Kea Sherman and Carlos L. Zervignon.

99th State Representative District: Adonis C. Expose, Harold John, Candace N. Newell and L. Jameel Shaheer.

100th State Representative District: Jason Hughes and Anthony Jackson Jr.

1051th State Representative District: Mark Cormier, Christopher J. “Chris” Leopold, and Christopher Schulz.

For a complete list of races and candidates, visit geauxvote.com.

We Are Proud to Have Served Our Community for 38 Years. Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Providing a Trusted Voice. We Look Forward to 38 More!