With many New Orleanians and residents throughout the state still evacuated, assessing storm damage, or even waiting for the restoration of essential services, the Oct. 9 election has been rescheduled to Nov. 13. 

Earlier this month Louisiana Secretary of State Kyle Ardoin announced that Governor John Bel Edwards has agreed with his recommendation to reschedule the fall 2021 elections in light of the devastation brought on by Hurricane Ida. 

“I am thankful that the Governor has recognized the importance of our recommendation to move the Oct. 9 election to Nov. 13 and the Nov. 13 election to Dec. 11,” Ardoin said. “This will allow our staff and local partners more time to properly prepare for a statewide election while ensuring the integrity of our election processes and that our voters’ traditional voting habits are as undisturbed as possible.”

New Orleans voters will head to the polls on Nov. 13 to choose a new mayor, assessor, sheriff, as well as at-large and district council members. Voters in state House District 102 will also be selecting a new representative to replace state senator Gary Carter.

Qualifying for New Orleans muncipal elections was held in July with dozens qualifying across 13 races. Orleans Parish Coroner Dr. Dwight McKenna was the only incumbent that did not attract any challengers at the end of qualifying. However, with Yiesha McFarland withdrawing, Civil District Court Clerk Chelsey Richard Napoleon is now  unopposed in her bid to remain in that seat.

The deadline to register to vote in person or by mail is Oct. 13. The deadline to register to vote through the GeauxVote Online Registration System is Oct. 23. Early voting is Oct. 30 through Nov. 6 (excluding Sunday, Oct. 31) from 8:30 a.m.-6 p.m.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot is by 4:30 p.m. Nov. 9. Voters can request an absentee ballot online through the state’s voter portal or at their local Registrar of Voters Office . And the deadline for a registrar of voters to receive an absentee ballot (other than military and overseas voters) is by 4:30 p.m. Nov. 12. 

Mayor LaToya Cantrell will face 13 in her bid to lead the City another four years.

Among Cantrell’s challengers are a long list of largely political newcomers or perennial candidates including independents Joseph Amato, Douglas Bentley I, Matthew Hill and Nathaniel Jones; Democrats Eldon Delloyd “El’ Anderson, Belden “Noonie Man” Batiste, Luke Fontana and Johnese Lamar Smith; and lone Republican Vina Nguyen.  Several candidates with no party affiliation are also in the race, including Manuel “Chevrolet” Bruno, Byron Stephan Cole, Leilani Heno and Reginald Merchant.

Sheriff Marlin Gusman will face four in his bid to remain in office, including former Independent Police Monitor Susan Hutson, along with Quentin R. Brown Jr, Janey Hays and Christopher Williams.

Fist City Clerk Austin Badon, Patricia Boyd Robertson and Second City Clerk Darren Lombard are facing off to determine who will replace the Criminal District Court Clerk Arthur Morrell, who will retire at the end of his term.

Assessor Erroll Williams will face one less challenger with Gregory “Greg” Lirette disqualified from the race. Still, Anthony Brown, Andrew Gressett, and Carlos Hornbrook are each vying to become Orleans Parish’s next tax collector.

District A City Councilman Joseph “Joe” Giarrusso III will have to defend his seat against two challengers, Amy Misko and Robert “Bob” Murrell, in his effort to serve another term. 

District B Councilman Jay Banks drew challenges form Lesli Harris, Rosalind “Roz” Reed-Thibodeaux and Rella Zapletal, in his bid for a second term. Timothy David Ray has withdrawn his candidacy for the District B seat.

With no incumbent in either field, the City Council District C and D races drew a significant number of qualifiers. 

Seven are vying to become the next representative for the Council’s District C seat, including Stephanie Bridges, Freddie King III, Alonzo Knox, Vincent Milligan, Stephen Mosgrove, “Frank” Perez and Barbara Waiters.

And twice as many have thrown their hats into the race for District D. They are: Chelsea Ardoin, Chantrisse Burnett, Morgan Clevenger, Anthony Doby, Troy Glover, Eugene Green, Kevin Griffin-Clark, Mark “Johari” Lawes, Mariah Moore, Robert “Bob” Murray, Keith “KP” Parker, Timolynn “Tim” Sams, Dulaine Troy Vining, and Kourtney Youngblood.

District E City Councilwoman Cyndi Nguyen will have to stave off five challengers to hold on to her seat. In addition to former Oliver Thomas, a former member of the Council who stepped down from his job as a morning show host on WBOK 1230 AM to run for City Council, Nguyen will face John Bagneris, Michon Copelin, Vanessa “Gueringer” Johnson, and Aaron Miller.

Both District D Councilman Jared Brossett, who is term-limited from running for that seat again, and District C Councilwoman Kristen Palmer qualified to run for the At-Large District 2 seat. Others in that race include former state Sen. J.P. Morrell and Green Party candidate Bart Everson. 

In her bid to maintain her seat on the Coucnil At-large District 1 City Councilwoman Helena Moreno will only face fellow Democrats Kenneth Cutno now that David Novak as bewen disaqualified for the race.

We Are Proud to Have Served Our Community for 38 Years. Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Providing a Trusted Voice. We Look Forward to 38 More!