Just over six percent of voters turn out for special election

The residents of state House District 93 will head back to the polls on March 25 to decide which of two runoff candidates will win the seat left vacant by Royce Duplessis’ election to the state Senate.

Alonzo Knox
Sibil “Fox” Richardson

Alonzo Knox and Sibil “Fox” Richardson drew the most votes in the Feb. 18 special election, but neither garnered the more than 50 percent needed to avoid a runoff election.

Richardson received 37 percent of the vote percent, while Knox drew 31 percent in a race that saw only 6.1 percent of the voters in the district turning out. 

District 93 stretches back from the river to include areas of both Uptown and Downtown New Orleans, including part of the Garden District, the Irish Channel Central City, the Warehouse District, Treme, the French Quarter, and the CBD. It also stretches away from the Mississippi River to include parts of the 7th and 8th wards.

Meanwhile, New Orleans voters will also choose a new civil court jusdge and a new criminal court judge on the March 25 ballot.

Both judgeships were open by recent attritions, including the uncontested election of former Civil Court Judge Rachel Johnson to the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeal and the retirement of Criminal District Court Judge Laurie White.

Attorneys Deidre Kelley, Leon Roche, Simone Levine, are seeking the Section A Criminal District Court seat, whil attorneys Stephanie Bridges and David Jefferson “Jeff” Dye and First City Clerk Judge Marissa Hutabarat are candidates for the Section B Civil Court seat.

District 4 School Board
Race Decided

Donaldo Batiste

Interim School Board Member Donaldo Batiste, who was appointed last year to represent the residents of the Orleans Parish School Board District 4 after the resignation of former member Jancarlos Wagner Romero won the special election to fill the unexpired term after the only other candidate to qualify, Jacqueline Epstein withdrew from the race.

Residents have until Feb. 22 to register to vote in person and until Mar. 4 to register online for the March 25 municipal primary election. 

Early voting for this race takes place Mar. 11-18.

We Are Proud to Have Served Our Community for 38 Years. Standing Up, Speaking Out, and Providing a Trusted Voice. We Look Forward to 38 More!